Free Digital Summit

Datanova for Data Analysts

The past, present, and future of the Data Analyst role.

Register

After the tremendous success of our inaugural Datanova conference, we are excited to announce that we are taking this show on the (virtual) road!

On Wednesday, May 19 at 7am PST | 10am EST | 2pm BST, join us for a half day of free educational content designed for Data Analysts.

Reserve your spotLimited to 500 registrants

Session highlights

  • Lightning talk by Deepak Jose (Mars), on enabling profitable growth by leveraging data and analytics
  • Panel on the current state of the Data Analyst role, led by Andy Cotgreave (Tableau)
  • A forward-looking panel on what Data Mesh means for Data Analysts, moderated by Sean Zinsmeister (ThoughtSpot) with an exciting roster of panelists including Zhamak Dehghani (founder of Data Mesh term), Daniel Abadi (University of Maryland), and Gareth Stevenson (Bank of America)
  • An educational session on Starburst & Trino: The golden language (SQL) prevails!

Agenda

  • 10:00AM-10:20AM, EST
    3:00PM-3:20PM, BST

    Customer Presentation: Enabling profitable growth by leveraging data and analytics (Mars)

    In this session, hear Deepak Jose, Head of Business Strategy and Advanced Analytics at Mars, discuss how they accelerated their digital transformation journey. Deepak will showcase their analytics platform vision and share how they’re enabling field sales teams to become data analysts, empowering them to make data-driven decisions that drive sales.

  • 10:20AM-11:15AM, EST
    3:20PM-4:15PM, BST

    Past: SQL & Trino (formerly, PrestoSQL): The golden language prevails

    SQL is the golden language. While it’s been around for 30 years, SQL remains the dominant language for analytics. Explore new SQL-based solutions like Trino built to gain fast access to new & critical data.

  • 11:15AM-12:00PM, EST
    4:15PM-5:00PM, BST

    Present: The State of Data Analysts

    Led by Tableau, this session will cover the current state of data analysts. It will cover how their role has evolved with the demands of modern analytics, what’s working for them, best practices, and more.

  • 12:00AM-12:15AM, EST
    5:00PM-5:15PM, BST

    Break

  • 12:15PM-1:00PM, EST
    5:15PM-6:00PM, BST

    Future: What Data Mesh Means for Data Analysts

    What does domain-driven ownership of data mean for the Data Analyst? This forward thinking panel will be a moderated by Sean Zinsmeister, VP Product Marketing at ThoughtSpot, with panelists Zhamak Dehghani, who coined the Data Mesh term, Daniel Abadi, Darnell-Kanal Professor of Computer Science at University of Maryland, College Park, and Gareth Stevenson, Director, Senior Quantitative Analyst, Bank of America

  • 1:00PM-1:15PM, EST
    6:00PM-6:15PM, BST

    Lightning Demos – Starburst + ThoughtSpot

    See a brief showcase of how the Starburst integrations with ThoughtSpot enable data analysts to access more data via search

  • 1:15PM-1:30PM, EST
    6:15PM-6:30PM, BST

    Lightning Demos – Starburst + Tableau

    See a brief showcase of how the Starburst integrations with Tableau enable data analysts to access more data via their favorite BI platform.

  • 1:30PM-2:00PM, EST
    6:30PM-7:00PM, BST

    Networking and Q&A

    An opportunity to meet and learn from your peers!

Speakers

Zhamak Dehghani

Director of Emerging Technologies, ThoughtWorks

Andy Cotgreave

Technical Evangelist, Tableau

Deepak Jose

Head of Business Strategy & Advanced Analytics, Mars

Tom Nats

Director of Customer Solutions, Starburst

Brian Luisi

Director, Solutions Architects, Starburst

Gareth Stevenson

Director, Senior Quantitative Analyst, Bank of America

Daniel Abadi

Darnell-Kanal Professor of Computer Science at University of Maryland College Park

Sean Zinsmeister

VP of Product Marketing, ThoughtSpot

Starburst Enterprise

Fast, free, distributed SQL query engine for big data analytics

Starburst offers a free, unlicensed version which includes:

  • Certified and secure releases
  • Cost-based optimization for federated queries
  • Connector extensions, including table statistics
  • Usage metrics

Data leaders trust Trino (formerly PrestoSQL)

Netflix, Verizon, FINRA, AirBnB, Comcast, Yahoo, and Lyft are powering some of the biggest analytic projects in the world with Trino.

By signing up, you agree to communication about Starburst products and services. You may unsubscribe at any time. Your privacy is important to us, please review our privacy policy.

Free Download

No credit card required.