February 9–10, 2022

Register

Mark your calendars for an educational journey!

Days

Hours

Minutes

Seconds

The Data Mesh Summit

Join us for a two-day summit February 9–10, packed with unique and educational content for data leaders and data practitioners alike.

Key Highlights:

  • Keynote by Steve Wozniak, Apple Co-Founder, innovator, and engineer
  • Multiple presentations by Zhamak Dehghani, Founder of Data Mesh and Director of Next Tech Incubation at Thoughtworks
  • Data Mesh Master Class by Accenture
  • Hands-On Lab for building, managing, and sharing data products with Starburst

Datanova will feature insights from data leaders, subject matter experts, and world’s leading organizations who’ve built a Data Mesh architecture. You’ll walk away with the practical expertise to apply the Data Mesh construct to your business.

Sponsored by:

Gold

Silver

Bronze

Register

Who should attend

Data Leaders (Executives, CIOs, CDOs, Directors)

Did you know that treating data as a product could drive revenue? Learn all about the ROI of Data Mesh.

Data Consumers (Data and Business Analysts, Data Scientists)

Learn how to leverage SQL-based MPP query engine for unlocking the value of distributed data and reducing the time-to-insight.

Data Managers (Data Engineers, Data Architects)

ETL, ELT, or maybe no L at all? Hear from your peers who’ve found a way to almost stop moving & copying data by giving teams access to data where it lives.

Agenda

Day 1: Wed, Feb 9

10:00-10:30am EST
7:00-7:30am PST
3:00-3:30pm GMT

In a Fireside Chat with Apple’s Steve Wozniak

Get ready to hear from Apple co-founder, innovator, and engineer Steve Wozniak, who was cemented as a Silicon Valley icon when he designed the Apple Computer 1. He has spent more than forty years as a technology entrepreneur and philanthropist.In this Q&A-styled keynote, Woz will share the founding story of Apple, how he met Steve Jobs, their long standing partnership, the ups, the downs, the known, the unknown. You’ll also hear his thoughts on innovation, creativity, education, and the future of technology.

10:30-10:50am EST
7:30-7:50am PST
3:30-3:50pm GMT

CEO Keynote: Achieving a Data Mesh with Starburst

Hear from Starburst’s Co-Founder and CEO, Justin Borgman, on the rise of the Data Mesh movement and what it means for your organization. Data Mesh requires a paradigm shift involving people, process, and technology. Data Mesh not only acknowledges that data is inherently decentralized, it embraces that fact. In this talk, Justin will demystify Data Mesh and share concrete ways to begin your journey. You’ll learn how you can achieve quick wins and solve real pain along the way, while building towards a complete Data Mesh vision over time.Join this session to learn why the world’s leading companies are calling Starburst the analytics engine for the Data Mesh.

10:50-11:10am EST
7:50-8:10am PST
3:50-4:10pm GMT

Starburst Product Vision

Starburst is on a mission to enable next generation analytics anywhere. In this session, hear from Starburst’s Co-Founder and VP of Product, Matt Fuller, as he gives an overview of our 2022 product roadmap, and how it can help advance your journey towards your Data Mesh vision.

11:10-11:30am EST
8:10-8:30am PST
4:10-4:30pm GMT

Session Coming Soon

11:30-12:15pm EST
8:30-9:15am PST
4:30-5:15pm GMT

Oxford Debate: Data Mesh vs Data Fabric

On the surface, the idea of a Data Mesh and a Data Fabric can sound similar. But, if you take a deeper look, they are vastly different technical approaches. In this panel, Sanjeev Mohan, former Gartner analyst, Daniel Abadi, professor of Computer Science at the University of Maryland, and Zhamak Dehghani, founder of the Data Mesh framework, will debate the central problem that these solutions are trying to solve, the key differences, and conclude with a poll on the winning paradigm.

12:30-1:30pm EST
9:30-10:30am PST
5:30-6:30pm GMT

Data Product Master Class with Accenture

Building & sharing data products is at the heart of the Data Mesh concept. Data products are the future of better & faster insights that drive new monetization opportunities. In this Master Class, Teresa Tung, Accenture’s Cloud First Chief Technologist will teach you how to identify a data product opportunity, how to sell it within your organization, and how to get started once your concept is sold. This session will include a hands-on workshop so you leave with personal next steps unique to your companies’ data product opportunity.

1:30-1:50pm EST
10:30-10:50am PST
6:30-6:50pm GMT

Session Coming Soon

1:50-2:20pm EST
10:50-11:20am PST
6:50-7:20pm GMT

From Theory to Practice: O’Reilly Market Research

The Data Mesh is poised to replace data lakes and data warehouses as the dominant architectural pattern in data and analytics. By promoting the concept of domain-focused data products that go beyond file sharing, Data Mesh helps you deal with data quality at scale by establishing true data ownership.In this talk, Zalando’s Max Schultze and Thoughtworks’ Arif Wider will share their findings and insights from O’Reilly’s latest market research report, Data Mesh in Practice. You will gain an in-depth understanding of the steps involved in a Data Mesh journey, along with common pain points and best practices.

2:30-2:45pm EST
11:30-11:45pm PST
7:30-7:45pm GMT

Session Coming Soon

2:45-3:05pm EST
11:45-12:05pm PST
7:45-8:05pm GMT

Session Coming Soon

3:05-3:25pm EST
12:05-12:25pm PST
8:05-8:25pm GMT

EMIS: Leading Ground Breaking Research on the Treatment of COVID-19

Providing better patient care all comes down to having access to the right information at the right time. Hear Richard Jarvis, CTO at EMIS Health, discuss how he and his team are making new scientific discoveries with Starburst and changing the way we treat COVID-19.

3:35-3:45pm EST
12:35-12:45pm PST
8:35-8:45pm GMT

Partner Spotlight

Session information coming soon!

3:45-4:00pm EST
12:45-1:00pm PST
8:45-9:00pm GMT

Partner Spotlight

Session information coming soon!

Day 2: Thu, Feb 10

10:00-10:30am EST
7:00-7:30am PST
3:00-3:30pm GMT

The State of Data: Annual Survey Results

Learn about the state of data, uncover emerging trends, and get ahead on your data strategy. In this session, Starburst will unveil the results from custom research conducted on the most important data and analytics topics. You’ll walk away with valuable insights.

10:30-11:15am EST
7:30-8:15am PST
3:30-4:15pm GMT

Are you Data Mesh Ready? Take the Data Mesh Readiness Assessment

If you’re struggling with data quality, data ownership, and data governance, this session is for you. Starburst’s VP of Data Mesh Consulting Services Adrian Estala will offer a fresh perspective on driving ROI with Data Mesh. Take the Data Mesh readiness assessment in real time and learn how to create demand for data sets that will solve business problems you’ve faced for years.

11:15-11:30pm EST
8:15-8:30am PST
4:15-4:30pm GMT

Partner Spotlight

Session information coming soon!

11:30-12:15pm EST
8:30-9:15am PST
4:30-5:15pm GMT

Starburst Galaxy Lab with the Trino Co-Creators

Get up close and personal in a hands-on lab with Trino/Presto’s original creators as they walk you through Starburst’s fully managed cloud offering, Starburst Galaxy. Follow along by setting up a Starburst Galaxy cluster with $500 worth of free credits. Plus, you’ll get a Commander Bun Bun plushie if you attend this session and sign up for Galaxy.

12:30-1:45pm EST
9:30-10:45am PST
5:30-6:45pm GMT

Hands-On Product Lab: Build A Data Product

By treating data as products, organizations have the ability to make more informed business decisions faster than ever before. In this hands-on lab, you will have the opportunity to learn from Starburst’s Director of Engineering, Colleen Tartow PhD and Head of Data Products, Vishal Singh, how to use the Starburst Enterprise interface to create Data Products, providing business context around datasets so that data consumers can explore, discover, and analyze data with ease.

1:45-2:00pm EST
10:45-11:00am PST
6:45-7:00pm GMT

Partner Spotlight

Session information coming soon!

2:00-2:30pm EST
11:00-11:30am PST
7:00-7:30pm GMT

Data Mesh Strategy and Execution with Zhamak Dehghani

Learn all about strategy, implementation, and execution of Data Mesh first hand from Zhamak Dehghani, the founder of the Data Mesh paradigm. She will discuss founding principles, practical applications, and best use cases for adopting a Data Mesh strategy.

Speakers

Steve Wozniak

Co-founder, Apple

Zhamak Dehghani

Director of Emerging Technologies, ThoughtWorks

Justin Borgman

CEO, Starburst

Jess Iandiorio

CMO, Starburst

Matt Fuller

VP of Product, Starburst

Adrian Estala

VP, Data Mesh Consulting Services, Starburst

Colleen Tartow PhD

Director of Engineering, Starburst

Vishal Singh

Head of Data Products, Starburst

Richard Jarvis

Chief Technology Officer, EMIS Health

Teresa Tung

Cloud First Chief Technologist, Accenture

Daniel Abadi

Computer Science Professor, University of Maryland, College Park

Max Schultze

Data Engineering Manager, Zalando

Dr. Arif Wider

Professor of Software Engineering & Technology Consultant, Thoughtworks

Sanjeev Mohan

Principal, SanjMo

Martin Traverso

Co-creator of Trino (formerly PrestoSQL)

David Phillips

Co-creator of Trino (formerly PrestoSQL)

Dain Sundstrom

Co-creator of Trino (formerly PrestoSQL)

Join us for Champagne Datanova

February 9th | 6:00 – 8:00pm Local Time

Learn more and register

 


 

Call for papers

Have a Data Mesh story to tell? We want to hear all about your journey and lessons learned. Please submit a brief abstract outlining your talk track for consideration no later than Wednesday, Dec. 15, 2021.

Email us

Before you Attend the Data Mesh Summit

Download the pre-released Data Mesh book By Zhamak Dehghani

Download

Starburst Enterprise

Fast, free, distributed SQL query engine for big data analytics

Starburst offers a free, unlicensed version which includes:

  • Certified and secure releases
  • Cost-based optimization for federated queries
  • Connector extensions, including table statistics
  • Usage metrics

Data leaders trust Trino (formerly PrestoSQL)

Netflix, Verizon, FINRA, AirBnB, Comcast, Yahoo, and Lyft are powering some of the biggest analytic projects in the world with Trino.

By signing up, you agree to communication about Starburst products and services. You may unsubscribe at any time. Your privacy is important to us, please review our privacy policy.

Free Download

No credit card required.